Skip to main content
Solved

Is blending Milestones & Custom Object fields in the same grid possible?

• 26 May 2024
  • 5 replies

I want to create a custom object with 50 fields and link it to project and milestone.But I want to display 10 fields in each milestone which are relevant for the owner to fill.

then in next milestone i want same number of rows as previous milestone but add specific columns to it.

Hi Deepti - Are you looking for the best way to approach this from a UI perspective of the user? 

Yes, I am new to planview adaptive work.

Can you help with some sample configuration for this requirement?

I can absolutely help answer any questions that you have on it! The first thing that I would tell you is that in AW, you cannot blend Milestone fields and CO fields in the same grid. These are two different objects, so each object has its own set of fields and own views. However, you can create a Milestone view that shows your milestone property card on top and the CO panel below that. This will show you both objects in a single view but it will not allow for dynamic columns. 

Secondly, you can place dynamic views on the CO object. This would need a control field on the CO. Let’s call it View Type. Using dynamic layouts, you can set the CO View Type to Base View and when that view type = base view, only the 10 fields you wish to show will show. When the View Type changes, so say Expanded View, the AW can dynamically change the view you are looking at to show the additional columns. Check out the Success site for Dynamic Layouts.