Skip to main content

I am curious what the recommended practice is, or how others may handle such a situation. For context, think in terms of a fixed price services project, meaning we are incentivized to be as efficient as possible. With that said, reality is often different from initial plans, either for better or worse as far as Work/Cost ‘budget estimates’ go to produce deliverables. As a project manager, I want to keep my project plan as accurate as possible, for both communicating to my customer as well as my executives: % completes, remaining effort/durations, forecasted costs, variance from budgets, etc. 

So the question is, what is best practice or how do others update a work plans remaining hours in order to have an accurate forecasted cost (lets assume we use the Update Forecast feature to do these). The main 2 options I am aware of are:

1. Remaining Effort - Manually update ‘Remaining Effort’ for a work item (i.e. if ‘Work’ was 100 hours, we have charged 50 hours, but based on progress we believe there is only about 5 hours of work left. In this case I could update ‘Remaining Effort’ to 5)
  2. Work - Update ‘Work’ to reflect the new estimated total hours (i.e. if ‘Work’ was 100 hours, we have charged 50 hours, but based on progress we believe there is only about 5 hours of work left. In this case I could update ‘Work’ to 55)

Both of these options, as far as I am aware, bring to light their own issues for what I am trying to accomplish:

1. Remaining Effort - ​​​​​​​Simply updating the ‘Remaining Effort’ field on a Work Plan does not impact the allocated hours that are driving financial forecasts, capacity planning, etc. although it does impact % complete. In order to update the forecasts, capacity plans, etc., the ‘Update Forecast’ option can be used to change the ‘Remaining Work’, however this has the following undesired impacts: